from Pixabay.com

Exploring Show Don’t Tell

Rebecca Graf
8 min readApr 11, 2018

--

If you have been a writer for any length of time, you’ll have heard this phrase before. If are a writer and never have, then you might want to reconsider your editor. Show don’t tell is very important and can make the difference between a good story and a great story.

What Does It mean

I have said this phrase many times and gotten just as many responses from people asking me what the *&$)#_#*%& did I mean. They have no clue. They think you write and that is it. Yet there is so much more.

What does it mean? It means let me as the reader sees and don’t tell me. Don’t treat me as though I’m stupid. Let my mind and the imagination do the work. Let’s look at an example.

When John finished speaking, it was evident that Aunt May was angry.

This is an example of telling. I can’t see Aunt May’s anger. You’ve just told me she is so I have to accept it. Visually, I’m coming up blank and that’s not good for most readers. I need you to show me and let me deduct that she is angry.

When I read that her lips were tight or that her knuckles were white against the arm of the chair, I can see she is angry. She is obviously not happy. She is not obviously not crying. That woman is mad. Now I can see it in my mind. Now the author has drawn me into the story and made me part of it.

--

--

Rebecca Graf

Writer for ten years, lover of education, and degrees in business, history, and English. Striving to become a Renassiance woman. www.writerrebeccagraf.com