Headline Writing Prompt

Rebecca Graf
2 min readApr 30, 2024
https://www.pexels.com/photo/positive-senior-man-in-formal-wear-and-eyeglasses-hugging-with-young-lady-while-sitting-at-table-3823497/

A writing prompt can be anything. I once thought that only a sentence given by my teacher could be one. Then I found someone sharing picture writing prompts. The more I got involved in the writing world, I began to discover that writing prompts are literally anything that prompts a story idea. A funny story told by my father could be one. A song can be one. A holiday or event can be a writing prompt. why not headlines?

How to Use a Headlines Writing Prompt

With a headlines writing prompt, you are given a headline that is copied straight from a news source or online magazine. A standard way to work with writing prompts is to look or listen to the prompt. Put it aside for at least a few hours. I suggest to do this for up to a few days so your brain can relax and feel free to explore all the possible creative things you an do with the prompt. when you first look at the prompt, you might come up with nothing or something that feel is rather lame. Giving your mind time to jump from idea to idea nd find the moist inspiring one.

With headline writing prompts, you look at the headline. Step away. If you still have nothing when you come back, read the actual article. Here I have a summary you can use instead before you need to move on to the whole piece. The reason I prefer this method of piece by piece is that when you read the…

--

--

Rebecca Graf

Writer for ten years, lover of education, and degrees in business, history, and English. Striving to become a Renassiance woman. www.writerrebeccagraf.com