My Excuses Stopping Me From Getting Healthy

Rebecca Graf
5 min readMay 16, 2023
https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-standing-on-green-grass-field-while-stretching-her-arms-1435822/

I admit it. I need to get healthy. Overweight, high sugars, low minerals. And it is only getting worse as I get older with all the aches and pains that come with that. This isn’t fun. I’m barely into my fifties, and I feel like I’m over a hundred. So what is stopping me from getting healthy? All those pesky excuses that sound so logical.

Blame It On the Excuses

We’re all good at giving excuses for everything in our lives from work to family. They all make sense. I do have to work so I don’t have time. I do need to sleep, eat, and have a life. Excuses get the blame like when we say “The devil made me to it”. It’s easy to do because they aren’t exactly lies.

Here are a few of the excuses I find myself using.

I Don’t Have Time

Who doesn’t use this excuse for everything under the sun? There are demands on our time all the time. Work takes up eight to ten hours. Then there is grocery shopping, cooking, cleaning, taking care of family, and sleep. When do I have time to do anything?

The truth is that time is really on my side. I have to take time to get my meals together. It doesn’t usually take any extra time to gather healthier choices. Also, I take advantage of my grocery store shopping for me with me picking them up. I…

--

--

Rebecca Graf

Writer for ten years, lover of education, and degrees in business, history, and English. Striving to become a Renassiance woman. www.writerrebeccagraf.com